Snow White’s Poison Apple Cherry Pie

“Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs”

The Disney Collection: #1

Release year: 1937

Summary: In this epic story of love and friendship, the kind and beautiful princess Snow White wins the hearts of the Seven Dwarfs and triumphs over the evil plans of a wicked Queen (taken from Disney+).

The very first full-length Disney movie was “Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs” and so I kicked off the Disney Collection with The Fairest of Them All. Disney had a difficult time financially in the making of this film, but he was rewarded with an honorary Academy Award in 1938.

Fun fact: it was presented to Walt Disney by Shirley Temple and the award included the typical Oscar statuette, as well as seven mini statuettes.

When I first started doing themed movie nights, I came across an image of a pie where the top crust was shaped in the face that is seen on the poison apple that the Evil Queen makes. It was creepy and memorable, but I felt like it was way above my skill set. Pies are really intimidating to me. So even though I thought it would be a perfect inclusion in the Halloween season, I skipped right on past it.

When we moved a few weeks ago, I found a glass pie tin in a box of kitchen stuff. My sister has become quite a skilled baker and has learned to bake beautiful pies, and I knew this was my chance to learn. As I started to plan for this project, I knew it was my time to tackle the poison apple pie.

I was quickly able to find this recipe on Pinterest specifically for a poison apple pie. The baker had made an apple cranberry pie and it made it a creepy red-ish color. It was perfect!

Except… I’m not a huge cranberry fan. And on top of that, I couldn’t find any cranberries available for Walmart pickup. I’m trying to be a responsible citizen in the midst of this Covid-19 quarantine and use contactless grocery pickup as much as possible. Cranberries just didn’t seem like the right call right now. I kept searching until I found this recipe for an apple cherry pie. Walmart had pitted frozen cherries available for pickup and I was sold!

I wanted to bake a pie but I wasn’t ready to tackle homemade crusts yet, so all praise Pillsbury for coming to the rescue. I followed all of the instruction for the apple cherry pie: peeling and dicing the apples before cooking them in a mixture of brown sugar, cornstarch, and cinnamon. The recipe called for only two cups of cherries, but I added the entire bag of cherries.

Then came the most terrifying part: cutting out the poison apple face in the pie crust. I may or may not have had Dean stand next to me while I did it for moral support.

Once it was cut out, I layered it over the pie and sealed the edges together. I covered the edges with tin foil to prevent them from burning, and really felt like I was channeling some serious ‘Great British Bake-Off Vibes’. I really felt like Paul Hollywood would be proud of me in that moment.

The pie was in the oven for about forty-five minutes before I took off the tin foil and let it bake for the last ten minutes.

Behold: a Poison Apple Cherry Pie.

I could definitely sit here and nitpick all of the ways that this didn’t turn out exactly as I pictured.

But it’s my first pie.

You can tell it’s a face.

It was delicious. And even the Princess herself liked it.

So I am satisfied.

We didn’t have a full Snow White meal this go-around. It really was just the pie and for dinner we cleared out the fridge. If I were to do dinner, I would probably keep it simple with any kind of chunky stew. There’s a scene where Snow White makes stew for the dwarfs and I think that would be a simple tie-in.

Overall, this was huge step towards learning a new skill in baking. I would love to able to contribute more in the realm of pies than just chocolate pudding pie with a premade graham cracker crust. But it was fun treat to accompany a classic movie with Disney’s first princess.

Who is your favorite princess? What dinner would you choose to make to go with a poison apple pie? Tell me in the comments!

Don’t forget to subscribe for email notifications about my Disney posts.

Tomorrow I enter the world of a delightful little puppet and his conscience. See you then!

6 thoughts on “Snow White’s Poison Apple Cherry Pie

Leave a comment